Skip to main content

Scientific activities

Created in 2010, the EASE laboratory has built its identity around an approach to assess the exposure of people (travelers, residents) and the natural environment (air, water, soil, flora, fauna) to the risks of accidents and pollution caused by road transport. This approach is based on an understanding of the phenomena that are at the origin of the risks and on reliable methodologies for collecting the data necessary for the analysis of the phenomena and their modeling.
The laboratory's research is grouped around three topics:

 

Tribology applied to the vehicle / road system:

Tribology is the science that studies the phenomena that can occur between systems in contact. Applied to road transport, it is about understanding the mechanisms of friction, lubrication and wear at the tire / road interface. This understanding allows to model frictional forces from important factors such as the texture of the road surface, contact conditions and the characteristics of contaminants present at the tire / road interface. The wear studies aim in particular to provide knowledge on the formation of non-exhaust particles, which contribute to the pollution of the natural environment.

Dynamics of pollutants

Research on the dynamics of pollutants aims to study their emission and follow their dispersion from the source - road transport - to the targets (organisms, natural environment). To identify the mechanisms of exhaust and non-exhaust emissions, the work aims to analyze emissions according to the physicochemical properties of the emitting components, vehicle dynamics and external conditions. Theoretical work, coupled with experiments, then aims to model the dispersion of the particles by considering their kinetics and their physicochemical transformations.

Diagnosis and evaluation of facilities

The diagnosis aim, through indicators and dedicated tools, to assess the effects of road transport on the natural environment and on humans. The work deals, on the one hand, with safety and exposure diagnosis for users and residents and, on the other hand, with quality diagnosis of natural environments. The knowledge acquired will be used to propose and test land use planning alternatives at the ecosystem level. They will also help to develop strategies or systems that help reduce pollutant emissions and limit their impact on the affected environments. It is also a matter of promoting, in the framework of often participatory research, solutions based on nature or at low cost that encourage the involvement of citizens and local authorities.
This research can make use of life cycle analysis (LCA) tools to measure the impact during the use phase of an infrastructure in terms, for example, of toxicity or particulate pollution.

Events 2021

From to
From to

Aller au contenu principal

Activités scientifiques

Créé en 2010, le laboratoire EASE a construit son identité autour d’une démarche d’évaluation de l’exposition des personnes (voyageurs, riverains) et du milieu naturel (l'air, l'eau, les sols, la flore, la faune) aux risques d’accidents et de pollution induits par les transports routiers. Cette démarche s’appuie sur une compréhension des phénomènes qui sont à l’origine des risques et sur des méthodologies fiables pour le recueil des données nécessaires à l’analyse des phénomènes et leur modélisation.
Les recherches du laboratoire sont groupées autour de trois sujets :

Tribologie appliquée au système véhicule /chaussée

La tribologie est la science qui étudie les phénomènes susceptibles de se produire entre des systèmes en contact. Appliquée au transport routier, il s’agit de comprendre les mécanismes de frottement, de lubrification et d’usure à l’interface pneu/chaussée. Cette compréhension permet de modéliser les forces de frottement à partir des facteurs importants comme la texture de la surface de chaussée, les conditions de contact et les caractéristiques des contaminants présents à l’interface pneu/chaussée. Les études d’usure visent en particulier à apporter des connaissances sur la formation des particules hors échappement qui contribuent à la pollution du milieu naturel.

Dynamique des polluants

Les recherches sur la dynamique des polluants ont pour ambition d’étudier leur émission et de suivre leur dispersion depuis la source – les transports terrestres – jusqu’aux cibles (organismes, milieu naturel). Pour identifier les mécanismes d’émissions à l’échappement et hors échappement, les travaux visent à analyser les émissions en fonction des propriétés physico-chimiques des organes émetteurs, de la dynamique du véhicule et des conditions extérieures. Des travaux théoriques, couplés aux expérimentations, visent ensuite à modéliser la dispersion des particules en tenant compte de leur cinétique et de leurs transformations physico-chimiques. 

Diagnostic et évaluation des aménagements

Les diagnostics visent, à travers d’indicateurs et d’outils dédiés, à évaluer les effets des transports terrestres sur le milieu naturel et l’homme. Les travaux traitent, d’une part, des diagnostics de sécurité et d’exposition pour les usagers et les riverains et, d’autre part, des diagnostics de qualité des milieux naturels. Les connaissances acquises serviront à proposer et à tester des alternatives d’aménagement du territoire à l’échelle de l’écosystème. Elles contribueront aussi à élaborer des stratégies ou des dispositifs qui contribuent à réduire les émissions de polluants comme à limiter de leurs impacts sur les environnements affectés. Il s’agit aussi de promouvoir, dans le cadre d’une recherche souvent participative, des solutions basées sur la nature ou à bas coût favorisant l’implication des citoyens et des autorités locales.
Ces recherches peuvent faire appel à des outils d’analyse de cycle de vie (ACV) pour mesurer l’impact pendant la phase d’utilisation d’une infrastructure en termes, par exemple, de toxicité ou de pollution particulaire.

Evénements 2021